Documents of Myanmar Socio-Economic History
Top Introduction CCDMPM Members User's Guide Rules and Conditions

CCDMPM Members

Chair -

ITO, Toshikatsu (Professor of Southeast Asian History, Aichi University)

Committee members -

・ITO, Jun (Professor of Library Science) 1999-2000

・TANIGUCHI, Kikuo (Professor of Asian History, Aichi University) 2001

・KANO, Hiroshi (Assistant Professor of International Communication, Aichi University) 1999-2001

・TAKAHASHI, Toshiyuki (Nippon Koei) 1999-2001

・SHIBAYAMA, Mamoru (Professor of Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University) 2001-2005

・NAKAO, Hiroshi (Associate Professor of French, Aichi University) 2001-2005

・IWAKI, Takahiro (Associate Professor of Asian History, Chiba University) 2001-

This database was funded by Aichi University Grant-in-Aid for Academic Research, 1999-2001( Volume I, II ), to “Comprehensive Research on the Conservation and Compilation of Southeast Asian Historical Manuscripts by Transforming the Medium”, by Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research (Grant-in-Aid for Publication of Scientific Research Results) of Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, 2001( Volume III ), 2002( Volume IV ), 2003( Volume V ), 2004( Volume VI,VII,VIII ), and 2005( Volume IX), and by Grant-in-Aid for Preservation, Compilation, and Annotation of Indigenous Documents in Peripheral Regions of Asia of the Toyota Foundation, 2007( Volume X) and 2008( Volume XI).


The committee requested U Htun Yee, Visiting Fellow, Institute of International Affairs, Aichi University,1999-2003, and U Zaw Lynn Aung to make an inventory of the documents.

Documents of Myanmar Socio-Economic History could not have been constructed without the generous cooperation of the individuals and institutions holding relevant documents. The Ministry of Culture of the Union of Myanmar kindly permitted us to microfilm Parabaik held in the Mandalay Cultural Museum in 1987; while in the same year the late Daw Loun, head of the Thugaung family, gave her consent for images to be taken of the handsome collection of Salin Thugaung. We are also most grateful to Daw Ni Ni Myint, SEAMEO Regional Centre for History and Tradition, Yangon, U Tun Aung Chain, Chairman of NCPTM, and U Thaw Kaung, member of the Myanmar Historical Commission for their valuable advice concerning the collecting of manuscripts. We are further indebted to the late U Maung Maung Tin, M.A. and U Myat Soe, Librarian of Yangon University Library, for providing us with details of historical Myanmar manuscripts. Finally, we must express our thanks to Sayadaw U Thutalingara, Shwe Kyaung in Myinwun Kyaungtaik, Mandalay for his generous assistance with our research in Myanmar.

© The Committee for Constructing a Database of Myanmar Parabaik Manuscripts in Aichi University Toyohashi, Aichi, JAPAN 2002